See this image larger
BFF and me (r) before our 1st 5K during 35th College Reunion/Homecoming 10/10/2015 20 pounds less.

See this image larger
Mother's Day 2019. My youngest son graduates from college. Me with two of my 3 sons.

See this image larger
This is all I can do and it is more than enough to get me to goal...

go to goodies page
Happy Face
Pilates Lovers
go to goodies page
Pilates Lovers
go to goodies page

Shared Fitness Tracker
Interact with VERITY50
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment

I am working on reducing the post menopousal weight gain. I was able to retire from my primary job in December 2014! I have been slowly rediscovering myself, family and friends.

My focus is on eating organic whole foods. I want to limit my processed food intake.

I can't be on a diet, I have to learn self control and enjoy activity. My greatest challenge is staying active and improving my muscle tone! I love to dance and will be incorporating more into my exercise routine.

My journey started in 2008. As I approached age 50 that year, I realized I needed to finally lose the weight I had gained following the birth of three children in four years during my late thirties.

I started in June 2008 at 187 pounds with Seattle Sutton, a weight loss program that provides fresh food in pre portioned quantities to match your dietary needs. I realized that portion control was an issue for me and I was shocked at first at how small a portion was! However, I stuck to the plan for 3 months and lost about 20 pounds.

I tried to practice portion control on my own and was not successful in taking any more weight off. I plateaued at about 167 pounds.

In October 2008, after my 50th birthday, I joined Weightwatchers. Following the point program I lost an additional 17 pounds before reaching my goal and WW lifetime status in February 2009 at 150 pounds.

I went down to 145 pounds in June 2009. My weight has fluctuated since then.

I am 5'6" and have found my happy place to be between 145 and 148 pounds. Anything over 152 really starts to "weigh" me down and make my clothes too tight. However, I now realize how hard it is to maintain that weight so I'm adjusting my goal to a post age 55 range of 155 to 165. My focus will be on on how I feel, how my clothes fit and my overall fitness level rather than weight alone.

I joined Sparkpeople in February 2009 and I continue to use it to support the maintenance of my healthy lifestyle.

My goal is to never deprive myself, to supply my body and mind with all the nutrients it needs for optimal performance and to enjoy the blessing of physical activity.

Update: 9/11/2019 I achieved my goal weight of 154 lbs by working with an MD that does Integrative Medicine. She helped me by designing a diet especially based on my body, food allergies, age, goals, etc. I joined a gym in December 2018 and finally starting going 4 to 5 days a week.

Group fitness classes are my fav! The gym has wonderful instructors and the camaraderie cannot be beat. There are are a lot of women over 60 who use the facility. It is a very good fit for me.

Member Since: 2/26/2009

Fitness Minutes: 19,723

My Goals:
1. I want to return to my goal weight of 155 to 165. (done)
2. I want to write at least once a week in either a journal or on a personal work of fiction. (still in progress)
3. I want to become a regular hot yoga and pilates practictioner. (only occasional, need to do more)
4. I want to tone and tighten my core, upper and lower body. (working on this in my group fitness classes)
5. I want to be the change I'd like to see so that those around me can benefit from any positive changes/improvements I make. (my friends and family have noticed my healthy changes)
6. I want to travel to every State in the United States. (still a work in progress...)
7. I want to visit my ancestral home in West Africa. (not yet! still want to do this...)
8. I want to develop my business into a viable ongoing operation. (still in progress business set up but still not making profit)
9. I want to Improve my golf game. (done this a little...)
10. I want to take tennis lessons and play on a regul

My Program:
Eat organic vegetables and fruits daily.
Juice raw fruits and vegetables.
Drink 8 or more glasses of water and tea each day.
Pray and read my Bible daily.
Move aerobically by walking, hiking, jogging, biking, doing hot yoga, playing tennis, golfing and using the treadmill and eliptical.

Strengthen, lengthen, tone and firm my body by doing yoga, pilates, and free weights.

Prayer, fasting and meditation. Practice positive self talk.

Reward myself with home spa treatments and wardrobe planning.

Personal Information:
I am a Christian mother of three adult sons and an attorney. I seek balance in my personal and professional lives.

Other Information:

Read More About VERITY50 - Profile Information moved here. (Updated September 11)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 154.0 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (345):  123Next >Last >>